Classes in the Morgan Challenge

In view of the long history of the 4-wheeled Morgan, introduced in 1936, it would be difficult to run a race series which caters for the many diverse specifications, within one race, without a class system.

The idea is to produce a championship in which a driver in any class can win the series.

Morgan has produced three main models: the 4/4 ranging from 998cc to 1800cc; the Plus 4 with capacities between 1992cc and 2200cc; the Plus 8 which started in1968 at 3.5 litres and 150 bhp and peaked at 4.6 litres.

The new Aero 8 at 4.4 litres and 300 bhp in standard form, is the most powerful standard car Morgan has produced. To allow for these variations the classes are based around the capacity and performance of the relevant cars.

  • Class A
  • Class B
  • Class C6
  • Class C8
  • Class D

Class A

This is for road going cars, with a capacity of up to 4.6 litres for modified Rover V8s producing up to 400bhp.
Modifications to the brakes and suspension are allowed to handle the performance.
In the same class are late standard Aero 8s with unmodified engines, chassis and brakes.

Class B

Class B Is the class for standard 4.6 and modified 3.9 litre V8 engined cars, along with the modified 3 litre V6.
These cars are allowed limited modification to brakes and chassis, but run much nearer to standard production cars.
4 cylinder cars modified to Class A specifications are also in this Class with engines up to 2.4 litres as their performance should be similar to the Plus 8s in the class.
In the same class are early standard Aero 8s with unmodified engines, chassis and brakes.

Class C6

Class C6 is contested by standard Morgan Roadsters with 3 litre V6 engine.

Class C8

Class C8 is contested by standard Plus 8s up to 4.0 litres, mostly running standard fuel injection.
This is a good entry level for existing Morgan owners of injection cars as the modification costs are reasonable for first time competitors.

Class D

This class is for the earlier Plus 8 car with 3.5 litre engines running to standard production specifications.
A very good starting point for new competitors, with cars available at realistic prices and limited modification costs
Also the 4 cylinder class for production chassis 4/4 and Plus 4s. These cars are allowed a reasonable level of engine modifications to give realistic performance alongside the class D Plus 8s.